Mentor Award

The Mentor Award recognizes an OHBM member for their leadership in developing early career researchers including undergraduates, graduates and post-doctoral trainees. The OHBM Mentor Award is based on the training experiences and success of the nominee’s mentees, not the mentor’s personal career achievements.  For the purpose of award, mentoring is defined as the process of providing guidance and support to promote mentees’ career development.  The key roles of the mentor include, but are not limited to, providing:

  • Intellectual growth and development
  • Career development
  • Collegiality and building community through the generosity of acknowledgement and recognition

Award Criteria:

  1. Must be an OHBM member in good standing.
  2. Must provide proof of consistent and meaningful mentoring.
  3. Nominators must be mentees of the nominee or colleagues who have personal knowledge of the nominee’s mentoring efforts.
  4. Must promote diversity and inclusivity in their mentoring efforts.


  1. 1 letter from the nominator.
  2. 3 letters from mentees of the nominated.

Thank you for your nomination! Submissions have closed for OHBM 2024. Award winners will be notified in March and announced at the Annual Meeting.

Questions? Please direct them to the OHBM Executive Office at

Past Mentor Award recipients include:

2024: Seoul, Korea
Alex Fornito, Australia

2023: Montreal, Canada
Olaf Sporns, United States

2022: Glasgow, Scotland
Fernando A. Barrios Alvarez, Mexico

2021: OHBM Virtual II
Mirella Dapretto, United States

2020: OHBM Virtual I
F. Xavier Castellanos, United States