; Replication Award | Organization for Human Brain Mapping

Replication Award

The Organization for Human Brain Mapping has established an award that recognizes the best replication study, highlights OHBM’s commitment to reproducibility in neuroimaging research and incentives valuable replication research.

Award Criteria:

  1. The study must meet our definition of a replication study and be relevant to the field of human neuroimaging.
  2. Preference will be given to impactful work published within the last two years.
  3. The study must be published in a peer-reviewed journal or deposited into a recognized preprint archive (such as biorXiv and arXiv) before the submission deadline.
  4. Current OHBM elected leadership are ineligible to receive OHBM Awards.

Submit Nomination:

Click here to submit your nomination!

For more information about the award see our blog post.

Questions?  Please direct them to the OHBM Executive Office at info@humanbrainmapping.org.  

Past Replication Award recipients include:

2023: Montreal, Canada 
Cerebellar Atypicalities in Autism
Charles Laidi, France
Dorothea L. Floris, Julian Tillmann, Yannis Elandaloussi, Mariam Zabihi, Tony Charman, Thomas Wolfers, Sarah Durston, Carolin Moessnang, Flavio Dell’Acqua, Christine Ecker, Eva Loth, Declan Murphy, Simon Baron-Cohen, Jan K. Buitelaar, Andre F. Marquand, Christian F. Beckmann, Vincent Frouin, Marion Leboyer, Edouard Duchesnay, Pierrick Coupé, Josselin Houenou, and theEU-AIMS LEAP Group

2022: Glasgow, Scotland
Functional Co-Activation of the Default Mode Network in APOE 𝜀4 Carriers: A Replication Study
Lara J. Mentink, Netherlands
Joao P.O.F.T. Guimaraes, Myrthe Faber, Emma Sprooten, Marcel G.M. Olde Rikkert, Koen V. Haak, Christian F. Beckmann

2021: OHBM Virtual II
Reproducibility of Functional Brain Alterations in Major Depressive Disorder: Evidence From a Multisite Resting-State Functional MRI Study with 1,434 Individuals
Mingrui Xia, China
Tianmei Sid, Xiaoyi Sun, Qing Ma, Bangshan Liu, Li Wang, Jie Meng, Miao Chang, Xiaoqi Huang, Ziqi Chen, Yanqing Tang, Ke Xu, Qiyong Gong, Fei Wang, Jiang Qiu, Peng Xie, Lingjiang Li, Yong He

2020: OHBM Virtual I
A Comprehensive Analysis of Methods for Assessing Polygenic Burden on Alzheimer’s Disease Pathology and Risk Beyond APOE
Andre Altmann, United Kingdom
Marzia Scelsi, Maryam Shoai, Eric de Silva, Leon Aksman, David Cash, John Hardy, Jonathan Schott

2019: Rome, Italy
Evaluating the Evidence for Biotypes of Depression: Attempted replication of Drysdale et.al. 2017
Richard Dinga, Netherlands
Lianne Schmaal, Brenda Penninx, Marie Jose van Tol, Dick Veltman, Laura van Velzen, Nic van der Wee, Andre Marquand

2018: Singapore, Singapore
Diagnostic Classification of Unipolar Depression Based on Resting-state Functional Connectivity MRI: Effects of generalization to a diverse sample
Benedikt Sundermann, Germany
Stephan Feder, Heike Wersching, Anja Teuber, Wolfram Schwindt, Harald Kugel, Walter Heindel, Volker Arolt, Klaus Berger, Bettina Pfleiderer

2017: Vancouver, Canada
A Purely Confirmatory Replication Study of Structural Brain-behavior Correlations
Wouter Boekel, Netherlands
Eric-Jan Wagenmakers, Luam Belay, Josine Verhagen, Scott Brown, Birte Forstmann