; OHBM Sustainability and Environment Action SIG | Organization for Human Brain Mapping

OHBM Sustainability and Environment Action (SEA) SIG

The Sustainability and Environment Action (SEA) SIG was set up to tackle sustainability and environmental issues around brain imaging. Awareness of the environmental impacts of human activities has never been higher, and there is now strong international consensus that we urgently need rapid action to tackle dangerous climate change and irreversible ecosystem degradation. Neuroimaging research activities play a part in these crises, from liquid helium extracted through fossil fuel production, to the energy usage of big data analysis.

The SEA-SIG works to educate our community on the environmental impacts of neuroimaging research activities, and how we could change these. The Annual Meeting also has a substantial environmental impact, with the huge carbon footprint of flying, and conference centre practises such as single-use plastics. The SEA-SIG therefore also seeks to collaborate with colleagues across OHBM to facilitate decarbonisation of the Annual Meeting.

Website: https://ohbm-environment.org/
Twitter: @OhbmEnvironment
Email: ohbm.sea.sig@gmail.com

OHBM Sustainability and Environment Action (SEA) SIG Officers

Charlotte Rae - Chair
University of Sussex

Niall Duncan - Secretary
Taipei Medical University

Marie-Eve Hoeppli - Treasurer
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital

Winson Yang - Chair-Elect
Texas Technical University

Evelyn Medawar - Secretary-Elect
Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences

Nikhil Bhagwat - Treasurer-Elect
McGill University

Maria Misiura - Social Media Coordinator
Georgia State University

Valentina Borghesani - Brain-Art SIG Liaison
Universite de Montreal

Elisa Guma - Student and Postdoc SIG Liaison
McGill University

Michelle Veldsman - Technology Task Force Liaison
University of Oxford

Sepideh Sadaghiani - Annual Meeting Working Group Chair
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Peer Herholz - Education Working Group Chair
McGill University

Raghavendra Selvan - Research Pipelines Worjing Group Chair
University of Copenhagen