Replication Award

The Organization for Human Brain Mapping has established an award that recognizes the best replication study and highlights OHBM’s commitment to reproducibility in neuroimaging research and helps begin to reshape the incentives towards replication. 

Award Criteria:

  1. The study must meet the below definition of a replication study be relevant to the field of human neuroimaging
  2. The study must be published in a peer-reviewed journal or deposited into a recognized preprint archive (such as biorXiv and arXiv) before the submission deadline.
  3. Please note:  Current OHBM elected leadership are ineligible to receive OHBM Awards.

What is a Replication Study?
A replication study is a repetition of a published study procedure with minor changes to variables assumed not to be important for the measured phenomena (this depends on the experiment, but could include demographics, scanner model, visual stimuli delivery system, analysis strategy, etc.). Replication studies usually (but not always) have a larger sample size than the original study for appropriate statistical power, and are performed by a different team than the original study (but planning of a replication study can benefit from involvement of the original researchers). Even though minor changes between the original study and its replication are inevitable they should be minimized as much as possible.

What Makes a Good Replication Study?
A good replication study is a study that addresses an important topic for the neuroimaging community. The study needs to show highest standards of experimental design, data collection and statistical analysis. Openness of experimental procedures, pre-registration, data processing and statistical analyses as well as public availability of collected data also speak in favor of a good replication study. Authors should also show maturity and thoughtfulness when discussing results of the replication and should give the original authors an appropriate platform to comment on the replication. It is also worth noting that a good replication study does not necessarily have to show the same effect as the original study. Both “successful” and “unsuccessful” replication attempts will be considered for the award. Methodological replication as well as replications that are part of a larger study will also be considered for the award.

Nomination Process
Studies can be nominated by their authors or third parties. Studies nominated in previous editions of the award cannot be nominated again unless they have been substantially revised.

Please submit your nomination here by Friday, January 8, 2021

Review Process

  1. A committee convened by OHBM would select the winner from the nominated papers. The award committee will include members of Program Committees from the past three years. Each member will have one vote. The number of votes received for each proposal will be publicly available.
  2. The initiators of the award (Chris Gorgolewski, Russell Poldrack, Jean Baptiste Poline, David Kennedy, and Thomas Nichols) are not eligible to receive the award.

The recipient will receive a cash award of $2,500 USD along with an engraved plaque. Both are presented at the OHBM Annual Meeting. The awardee will be given the opportunity to give a brief remark during the Annual Meeting. The award recipient will be notified in April 2021. 

For more information about the award see our blog post.

Questions?  Please direct them to the OHBM Executive Office at  

Past Replication Award recipients include:

2020: OHBM Virtual I
Andrea Altmann, United Kingdom

2019: Rome, Italy
Richard Dinga, Netherlands

2018: Singapore
Benedikt Sundermann, Germany

2017: Vancouver, Canada
Wouter Boekel, Netherlands